Best Analytics Shopify Apps

If you're struggling to pull actionable insights from your Shopify data, you're not alone — 75% of store owners report difficulties drawing conclusions from customer purchase patterns and ad performance metrics.

The good news is there are dozens of great solutions to help you make sense of your data without any technical wizardry required.

And the bad news? That's a lot of tools to evaluate — a lot of free trials, a lot of conversations with pushy salespeople, and a lot of potential time and money wasted figuring it all out.

That's where we come in — Shopdog is here to break down the best Analytics apps and help you find the right tool every use case and business size.

Want to skip the research? Talk to one of our app experts and we'll recommend the right app for you.

Talk to an app expert

Shopdog's Top Analytics Apps

We've curated the best Shopify analytics apps for every use case and business size. Our team of app experts is constantly researching and testing the newest apps to find the best recommendations.

Methodology & Disclosure
We evaluate each app based on features and integrations, ease of use, onboarding, customer support, and most importantly value. We are not compensated to include any of the apps in our rankings — they are based solely on merit. That being said, some apps may choose to pay us a referral for any new customers that find them via Shopdog (that's how we can afford to do the work we do).

BEST FOR ALL-AROUND ECOMMERCE ANALYTICS

Peel Analytics

5.0
25
reviews

One of the most comprehensive analytics apps we've seen, Peel allows you to create flexible dashboards of your most important ecommerce KPIs, get daily high-level reports over Slack or email, and drill-down into specific metrics to draw actionable insights.

7-day free trial available

AT A GLANCE
Real Average Cost: $200/month
Highlights: Comprehensive ecommerce analytics solution from fast-moving US-based developer; Onboarding and monthly check-ins with real account managers; Will likely be able to replace pointed solutions like Lifetimely, as those features are built in to Peel.
What to look out for: Potential for data overwhelm with 100's of metrics and data cuts to analyze; Pricing goes up for stores over $3M in montly revenue.
Support: Real person onboarding and monthly check-ins

Key Features

  • Core ecommerce metric dashboards
  • Paid advertising integration and analysis
  • Cohort and LTV analytics for retention analysis
  • Subscription analytics: churn, activations, profitability and subscriber cohort analysis
  • Audience segmentation and export
  • Basket (e.g. most frequently purchased together) and product journey analysis (e.g. top customer purchase journeys)
  • Flexible target setting to add to dashboards
  • Daily slack and email reports of key metrics

Integrations

  • Ecommerce Platforms: Shopify, Amazon
  • Paid Channels: Facebook, Google, TikTok, Pinterest
  • Retention: Klaviyo, KnoCommerce, Fairing
  • Subscriptions: Recharge, Bold, Smartrr, Rodeo
  • Reporting: Slack and email reports

Pricing and Cost Estimates

Peel pricing starts at $50/month, but to get access to the most important features, you'll need to be on the $200/month Pro plan.

Pricing plans are based primarily on features, but they do scale up pricing starting with stores over $3M in monthly revenue.

RECOMMENDED PLAN

Pro Plan ($200/month)

  • Includes integrations with all ad platforms and Klaviyo
  • Unlimited connected stores (useful for separate wholesale stores or Amazon accounts)
  • Subscription analytics (integrates with Recharge)

Cost Estimates by store size

*Assuming an $84 AOV and 27% returning customer rate
Monthly Revenue
Cost
$0-50K
$200/month
$50-250K
$200/month
$250K+
$300-500/month
BEST FOR LTV & COHORT ANALYSIS

Lifetimely LTV & Profit

5.0
389
reviews

Simple, plug-and-play solution to look at the lifetime customer value of different cohorts of customers, view high-level product journey data, and look at P&L that incorporates paid marketing costs.

14-day free trial available

AT A GLANCE
Real Average Cost: $50/month
Highlights: Excellent value for small stores looking for key ecommerce metrics; Ability to view LTV of various customer segments (subscribers, paid acquisition customers, etc)
What to look out for: If you want or a more comprehensive analytics solution, it may make more sense to find a solution that includes Lifetimely's features and have one source of truth.
Support: Good in-app ticket support, not on-demand

Key Features

  • Profit dashboards incorporating CAC, COGS, and shipping costs
  • Lifetime customer value cohort analysis (i.e. how much the average customer will spend after a specific time from first purchase)
  • Product journeys ( e.g. if customer first buys the face wash, they then most often buy the moisturizer)
  • Customer behavior analysis (e.g. repeat purchase rate, time between orders, subscription churn analysis)
  • Benchmarking — as one of the most popular LTV tools, it can provide useful performance benchmarks to put your numbers in perspective

Integrations

  • Ecommerce Platforms: Shopify, Magento (coming soon)
  • Paid Channels: Facebook, Google, Bing, Pinterest, Snapchat
  • Retention: Klaviyo (coming soon)
  • Subscriptions: Recharge
  • Shipping: Shipstation (automatically pulls in shipping costs)

Pricing and Cost Estimates

Lifetimely technically starts at $20/month, but to get access to the most important features, you'll need to be on the $50/month Pro plan. Pricing plans are based on features and integrations available.

RECOMMENDED PLAN

Pro Plan ($50/month)

  • Lowest cost plan that has all the LTV analysis features and customer behavior features
  • Includes integration with Recharge for subscription churn analytics

Cost Estimates by store size

Monthly Revenue
Cost
$0-50K
$50/month
$50-250K
$50/month
$250K+
$50/month
BEST FREE ANALYTICS APP

Tydo: Free Analytics

5.0
6
reviews

The best truly free analytics solution to view all your standard ecommerce metrics in one place. View basic sales, traffic, and paid marketing channel data.

14-day free trial available

AT A GLANCE
Real Average Cost: Free (for now)
Highlights: Did we mention it's free? Connect multiple Shopify stores to quickly view different sites apples to apples; Customizable daily/weekly/monthly email reports;
What to look out for: Lacking LTV and cohort analysis at the moment; only integrates with FB and Google Ads; very limited self-serve knowledge base
Support: Responsive chat but no guaranteed live chat hours

Key Features

  • Simple, intuitive sales dashboards
  • Paid channel performance dashboards
  • Daily/weekly/monthly email reports

Integrations

  • Ecommerce Platforms: Shopify
  • Paid Channels: Facebook, Google Ads
  • Subscriptions: Recharge

Pricing and Cost Estimates

So far, it's completely free. We do expect certain features to be gated into a paid tier down the line. They'll need to make money somehow.

RECOMMENDED PLAN

Free Store Overview Plan

  • Includes all features currently available
BEST ANALYTICS FOR  PAID ACQUISITION ATTRIBUTION

Triple Whale

reviews
Not on Shopify app store for review

If you're spending over $10k/month on paid channels, Triple Whale is a no brainer. With its proprietary first-party pixel, it is the most effective tool for getting an accurate view of your ad attribution and true profit.

No free trial available

AT A GLANCE
Real Average Cost: $400-$700/month for most stores
Highlights: Nothing beats it when it comes to attribution measurement and understanding what marketing channels drive sales.
What to look out for: Without significant ad spend volume to measure, data is likely to be scattered and unhelpful; You'll need to set up custom UTMs on all your marketing channels to get set up.
Support: Responsive live chat but no guaranteed live chat hours
Helpful Links: Youtube Demo; Knowledge Base

Key Features

  • Customizable dashboards of granular metrics beyond ad platform reported ROAS (blended vs. new customer ROAS, MER, POAS, LTV)
  • LTV and cohort analysis, percent change in LTV (e.g. is your LTV up in the last 3 months?), and LTV by customer segment
  • Repurchase rate and average reorder timing analytics
  • E-commerce calculator to quickly model what changes would mean for (e.g. give your current performance, see what 0.5% increase in conversion rate would do to your net profit)
  • Dashboard permalinks for clients (great for agencies using Triple Whale)
  • Creative cockpit feature to analyze your best performing creatives ( e.g. which of my videos are scroll-stoppers, which drive the highest ROAS, etc)
  • Customizable email and slack reports

Integrations

  • Ecommerce Platforms: Shopify (via unlisted Shopify app)
  • Paid Channels: Facebook, Google Ads, TikTok, Pinterest, Snapchat
  • Retention: Klaviyo, Postscript, Attentive
  • CX: Gorgias, Enquire, Knocommerce
  • Shipping: Shipstation

Pricing and Cost Estimates

Triple Whale technically starts at $100/month, but for the Pixel and Ad Creative analysis (two must-haves for series paid spenders) it will run you at least $400/month. Pricing is tiered based on revenue over the last 12 months (<$1M = $400/month, $1-3M = $700/mo).

RECOMMENDED PLAN

Triple Whale OS + Pixel + Creative Cockpit: ($400/mo min)

  • Includes access to the Pixel and Creative Cocktail, which are absolutely necessary if you're using Triple Whale for its intended purpose — otherwise you would be better off with Lifetimely for profit and LTV analysis.

Cost Estimates by store size

Monthly Revenue
Cost
$0-50K
$400/month
$50-250K
$700/month
$250K+
$700-$2500+/month
BEST ANALYTICS FOR  PAID ACQUISITION ATTRIBUTION

Fairing Post‑Purchase Surveys

5.0
134
reviews

Create branded, flexible post-purchase surveys to collect proprietary data and improve your marketing stack.

14-Day Free Trial

AT A GLANCE
Real Average Cost: $49/month for most stores
Highlights: Integrate premium zero-party data with a variety of other analytics tools seamlessly. Set up a sequence of questions based on logic to help you collect question-driven insights at just the right time.
What to look out for: If you’re a small business just starting to build your customer base, you might not want to invest the time/money to build a timeline of survey questions, especially if you know most of your customers come from the same place.
Support: Very responsive with a Live Chat option
Helpful Links: Youtube Demo; Knowledge Base

Key Features

  • Open-ended, multiple choice, & follow-up survey questions to extract deeper insights
  • Question driven insights into marketing attribution, personalization and segmentation, and customer research (E.g., “How did you hear about us?” “How was your shopping experience” & “How would you describe yourself?”)
  • Sequence of questions with programmable rules to automate your survey questions at key touchpoints, streamline proprietary data to your marketing stack, and build stronger customer relationships to increase your LTV
  • Integrates with Klaviyo, Triple Whale, and a variety of automation software for seamless workflow management
  • API access for automatically exporting your data to third-party vendors or your data repository

Integrations

  • Ecommerce Platforms: Shopify
  • Retention: Klaviyo
  • Conversion: Carthook
  • Subscriptions: Recharge
  • Automations: Alloy, Shopify Flow
  • Analytics: Daasity, Google Analytics, Triple Whale, Rokerbox (Add your attribution survey responses to your Rockerbox multi-touch attribution model)

Pricing and Cost Estimates

RECOMMENDED PLAN
  • All plans have all features. Pricing is based on size of monthly orders.

Cost Estimates by store size

Monthly Revenue
Cost
$0-50K
$49/month
$50-250K
$49-$299/month
$250K+
$599+/month
BEST FOR SEO ANALYTICS & OPTIMIZATION

SEO Manager

4.7
1728
reviews

An all-rounder that improves your SEO on all fronts, from page insights to google search to broken link management.

7-Day Free Trial

AT A GLANCE
Real Average Cost: $20/month
Highlights: SEO & ALT text scan tools to identify issues and give suggestions on improving the health of your site; Bulk edit product titles and collections and simulate how it looks on Google.
What to look out for: If you’re new to SEO, this app can be a bit of a learning curve. One small mistake could result in tons of site issues, so contact customer support to get set up.
Support: Good ticket support via email and request, live chat (not 24/7)
Helpful Links: Youtube Demo; Knowledge Base

Key Features

  • Make your store site more SEO friendly with the SEO & ALT text issues scan, bulk collection and title edits, and focus/keyword suggestions
  • Rank better in Google with the google page speed integration and mobile-friendly test, add JSON-LD structured data to make your site Google friendly, and see how your page shows up with the Google result simulator
  • Manage broken links with 404 logging, live tracking and repairs, and export/import
  • Integrated Google Search Console analytics and Google trends to make your site more attractive and drive more traffic

Integrations

  • Ecommerce Platforms: Shopify
  • Search Engines: Google, Bing
  • Search Engine Optimization: Google Search Console

Pricing and Cost Estimates

RECOMMENDED PLAN
  • $20/month (One plan, all features)

Cost Estimates by store size

Monthly Revenue
Cost
$0-50K
$20/month
$50-250K
$20/month
$250K+
$20/month
BEST ANALYTICS FOR Analyzing Customer Behavior

Replay Site Recorder & Surveys

4.7
2377
reviews

Record every action your visitors take to better understand what makes your customers convert.

7-Day Free Trial for Growth Plan ($29/month)

AT A GLANCE
Real Average Cost: $29/month for most stores
Highlights: Replay full session recordings of your site visitors to understand how users navigate your site. And improve UX. Use insights from segmentation and surveys to increase your conversion rate.
What to look out for: The $29/month Growth Plan covers 10,000 Unique Visitors per month. You pay $10 extra for every additional 5,000 unique visitors
Support: Help Center & 24/7 Live Chat Support
Helpful Links: Loom Demo; Knowledge Base

Key Features

  • Record user sessions and track every action your visitors take.
  • Create segments and generate customer insights to help you improve your UX and conversion rate.
  • Build a Post Purchase Survey to gain valuable feedback from customers.
  • Better Replay’s Heatmap helps you visualize where users scroll, click, and look at.
  • Simple install with no coding.

Integrations

  • Ecommerce Platforms: Shopify (via unlisted Shopify app)
  • Paid Channels: Facebook, Google Ads, TikTok, Pinterest, Snapchat
  • Retention: Klaviyo, Postscript, Attentive
  • CX: Gorgias, Enquire, Knocommerce
  • Shipping: Shipstation

Pricing and Cost Estimates

The Growth Plan ($29/month) allows you to record up to 10,0000 unique visitor sessions. You pay $10 for every 5,000 unique visitors after that.

RECOMMENDED PLAN

BetterReplay Growth Plan: ($29/mo)

  • For the typical small business (more than 100 unique visitors/month), the Growth Plan allows you to record up to 10,0000 unique visitor sessions, create custom rules, and access live chat support.

Cost Estimates by store size

Monthly Revenue
Cost
$0-50K
$29/month
$50-250K
$29/month
$250K+
Custom (+$10 for every additional 5,000 unique visitors)

Why do I need an analytics app?

In ecommerce, we live in a world of data abundance. You now have the ability to review every single customer journey from their first interaction with your brand all the way through their 12th purchase — every Instagram ad they saw, every email they clicked, every item they added to cart but didn't purchase.

And that's cool and all, but then the question becomes what am I supposed to do with all this data?

Analytics apps will help you make sense of your sales and marketing data so you can identify the trends in your business and make better decisions. It's all about actionable analytics.

What are some common use cases for analytics apps?

There are quite literally hundreds of analytics apps designed to help store owners solve a variety of problems. Before we dive into our recommendations, you'll want to isolate exactly what problem you're hoping to solve.

Here are a few examples of common use cases for Analytics apps:

  • To better understand  where your sales are coming from
  • To improve your onsite conversion rate
  • To spot issues (or bugs) in your customer's onsite experience
  • To identify which products are most often purchased together (or common product purchase journeys)
  • To understand the profitability of your advertising channels and campaigns
  • To identify how frequently customers order again
  • To get summaries of key performance metrics at a regular interval (e.g. daily ROAS updates)
  • To identify your VIP customers and brand advocates
  • To analyze subscription customer cohorts and churn rates

Prioritizing what analytics you need right now

Not all analytics apps are created equal, and the subscription prices can vary from free to very expensive. We're all about value here at Shopdog, so depending on your use case and the stage of your business we would recommend outlining your need-to-have requirements vs. your nice-to-haves before you start looking.

If you don't have a clear understanding of exactly what you need before you start vetting different apps, it's easy to get sold a dream from a hand-wavy salesperson promising that all your problems will go away if you just have the right "insights".

The reality is that ecommerce analytics are complicated, and there are a million things you could analyze, but probably only a few things you should focus on right now to make a tangible impact on your bottom line.

Let's start by taking a look at the different areas of your ecommerce business to see where you need to be diving into the numbers.

The 4 categories of ecommerce analytics

Broadly speaking, there are four areas where analytics apps can help your ecommerce business: acquisition, retention, operations, and conversion rate optimization — in that order (more on that later).

Acquisition & Attribution Analytics

Acquisition is how you acquire new customers, it is your business growth engine. Whether you acquire customers with SEO, Facebook Ads, TikTok, Google, Pinterest, press, affiliate marketing, Reddit, or some other really cool new channel that we haven't even heard of yet, you're going to need to get a handle on your acquisition metrics. The most common acquisition problems brands face (as it relates to analytics) are attribution and measuring performance.

The Attribution Problem

"Facebook says this campaign drove $15k in sales, but Google Analytics only attributed $7k"

Sound familiar?

Solving for over-attribution can drive even the most level-headed data whiz mad. There are a few reasons attribution gets tricky. For one, every marketing channel is incentivized to inflate their attribution numbers to keep you spending with them. Then, each channel's attribution model may be different (i.e. FB is using 7-day view attribution and Google Analytics is using last click). And finally,  attribution will always be partly a mystery — for example,  if someone originally got to your site by clicking an Instagram ad but then only purchased after clicking a marketing email, who should get the credit? 100% email? 50/50? 25/75?

Measuring Ad Performance

Part and parcel with attribution is having a clear view of which channels are performing well and which aren't, and a level playing field upon which to compare them. Going back to attribution, if Pinterest is reporting on 28-day attribution and Facebook is reporting on 7-day attribution, comparing their ROAS (return on ad spend) is not going to be apples to apples.

Drilling down, you'll also want to compare metrics within a channel to see which campaigns and even which specific ad creatives are performing best and the under-performers you need to kill off.

If you find yourself going into 7 different ad platforms every day and pulling the trailing 7-day performance into a spreadsheet to get a bird's eye view of your marketing performance, then you should definitely be using a Shopify analytics plug-in.

Retention

So now you've acquired your customer (and it probably wasn't cheap) so you'll want to make sure they stick around and continue to spend with you. There are two areas here you'll want to keep an eye on, your retention metrics and retention marketing performance.

Retention Metrics

This is where you'll put your retention data under the microscope and analyze metrics like subscription churn, repeat customer rates, reorder intervals, and lifetime customer value.

Let's break these down:

Lifetime Customer Value (LTV): This is how much you can expect a customer to spend over a given period of time and this requires cohort analysis. For example, let's say a customer spent $100 on their first purchase in January, and then by July they've made two more orders for $50 each, you would say their 6-month LTV is $200.

Repeat Customer Rate: The percentage of customers in a given time period who are returning customers. This might seem redundant with LTV because if customers come back and spend more you'd think your repeat customer rate might be higher, but repeat customer rate takes into account your store's sales overall where LTV is a per-customer metric. For example, if you scale your acquisition very quickly, your repeat customer rate might go down because as a percentage more of your sales are coming from new customers. Not a bad thing, just an important distinction to understand.

Subscription Analytics: Generally you're looking at two things here, subscription growth and subscription churn. Growth is pretty straightforward (how many new subscribers you have in a given period) while churn is the percentage of subscribers who have canceled. Obviously, you need to have subscription products for this to even be a consideration, but reporting on subscription revenue is important for a couple of reasons. One is that subscribers generate guaranteed recurring revenue, which is forecasted differently in your accounting because it isn't as seasonal as other sales. And two, subscription revenue can affect your company's valuation because it is viewed differently by investors or potential acquirers — a million dollar annual recurring revenue business is more valuable than a million dollars of regular sales (all other things being equal).

Retention Marketing

Now that you’ve outlined the metrics that you can use to measure your customer retention, you’ll want to see how your retention marketing efforts are performing and how they can improve your retention numbers.When it comes to Retention Marketing, there are three primary channels: Email, SMS, and Loyalty & Referral Programs. 

Email
Email is one of the most powerful and highest ROI retention channels because once you've paid to acquire a customer, the marginal cost to send them an email is virtually zero. While you'll need to spend time and resources to develop a successful email program, there's no middleman you need to pay to reach your customers — it is an owned marketing channel. The most popular ecommerce email marketing tool is Klaviyo.

SMS
SMS is a relatively new channel to reach existing customers (compared to email) and the SMS marketing landscape is evolving rapidly. Where email strategy needs optimization to avoid the ever-changing SPAM filters to ensure deliverability, SMS is a more direct way to get in front of customers with a virtually 100% open rate. The most popular SMS marketing platforms are Attentive and Postscript (see our comparison here).

Loyalty & Referral Programs
Last but certainly not least here is your Loyalty & Referral programs. We’ve grouped these together since most Loyalty & Referral apps provide features to support both programs but they are different. 

Loyalty programs generally offer tiered discount incentives (e.g. spend $200, get $20 off your next purchase) or points-based cash back (e.g. earn 1 point for each dollar spent, cash out 200 points for $20 off). 

Referral programs offer a two-way incentive for customers to share with their friends/network (e.g. refer one friend and you both get $10 off your next purchase, refer two and get $20 off, etc).

Every retention marketing tool will offer its own analytics within the app, but you’ll want to use a Shopify analytics app to see all your retention marketing channel performance in one dashboard.

Operations & Logistics Analytics

To run a successful ecommerce business, you need to understand your core financial metrics (e.g profit margin) and have a clear picture of your costs (e.g. COGS, marketing spend). This will allow you to find problem areas where you can trim expenses and growth opportunities where you can allocate more capital. 

Here are some of the most common operations questions that analytics apps can help you answer:

  • What is my real profit after taking into account COGS, returns/refunds, taxes, shipping and fulfillment, and marketing spend?
  • What are my most profitable marketing channels?
  • What is my return rate/costs? What is getting returned most often? And how can I reduce my returns?
  • What products are the most expensive to ship? 
  • What are my most profitable products and collections?
  • What is my real profit after taking into account COGS, returns/refunds, taxes, shipping and fulfillment, and marketing spend?
  • What are my most profitable marketing channels?
  • What is my return rate/costs? What is getting returned most often? And how can I reduce my returns?
  • What products are the most expensive to ship? 
  • What are my most profitable products and collections?


If you're looking to drill down into your operations and find your profit centers, you'll need an analytics app that can take a wholistic view of your business and integrate with your marketing channels and fulfillment platforms while also taking into account your fixed costs.

Conversion Rate Optimization